FO: Ballet Shorts

ballet1

 

Title: Ballet Shorts

Pattern used: “Gorgeous” Shorties by Girly Knits

Needles: US 6

Yarn: Berroco Vintage DK in Purple/Plum colorway

ballet2

I wanted a pair of knitted shorts for my ballet classes. I bought some shorts from dancewear stores, but they’re made out of cotton blend or nylon blend, and they’re great for summer but once the temperature started cooling down a bit, and my ligaments and joints are all loosened up from the pregnancy, I knew I had to get something warmer to protect myself.

I bought this pattern a while ago, to make something I can wear around the house. But for ballet, I made some modifications in order to make it more “activewear” appropriate.

1. I got rid of the Gorgeous lettering pattern.

2. No drawstrings — Made the top of the shorts a bit longer and skipped the eyelets.

3. No ruffles – no bulk needed. I just finished the openings with 1″ 2×2 ribbing.

It took me less than 24 hours to make it! I love the finished object, and already wore them to class twice. And they’re definitely warm.

Leave a Reply

