FO: Soho Smocked Dress (Maternity)

 

Pattern: Soho Smoked Dress from Modern Top-Down Knitting by Kristina McGowan

Yarn: Unknown Brand, Sport weight tweed yarn on the cone. Purchased from Dongdaemun Yarn Market in Seoul, South Korea. (It was a BARGAIN with all caps, $20 for the 2 pound of yarn). Feels like wool blend.

Needles: US 3, 5, and 7 (for the main body).

Story:

I was so sure that by the Month 6, I would be huge. In fact, I thought I would start getting huge 2 months into the pregnancy and was sad to say goodbye to my clothes. Oh boy, was I wrong. At week 20, halfway done with my pregnancy, I’m still fitting into all my regular jeans and tshirts. Under my regular clothes, I have a small bump, but only a few people who know about my pregnancy notice. SO! I knew I could take on a somewhat large of a knitting project and finish it in time for my big growing belly.

Well, this project was very fun. I made a lot of modification to fit the upper body to my normal size, and then played around with the hip width to accommodate my future baby bump. I was able to add in sleeves and edging, and still have about 180g of yarn left. Perhaps a matching cardigan for the baby boy?

The front of the bodice still came out a little too big on me. And the deep v-neck isn’t very flattering. I have large bust for my size so the deep v-neck just makes me look really wide. I might sew or crochet in a little lace panel.

Soho1

Soho2

Leave a Reply

