Knitting a dress for my growing belly

In about a couple of weeks, I’m going to be traveling to Korea to see my family. It’ll be during the weeks 21-22 of my pregnancy.

So far my belly hasn’t really “popped out” yet and all my regular jeans and shirts all fit pretty well. But, I have no idea how I am going to look in a couple of weeks and it’s pretty frustrating to try packing when you don’t know if you’ll still feel comfortable wearing the same clothes.

I AM packing a couple of belly bands and elastic-velcro thing you can attach to my regular pants in case my pants don’t fit anymore during the trip. And, I am knitting on this dress in case I just don’t want anything to do with pants anymore.

image

The pattern I am using is from Modern Top Down knitting, “Soho dress,” but my gauge is different and I am making a lot of modifications. After I have seen some FO photos on Ravelry, I decided that I didn’t like how the waist was dropped and the hip shaping begins at the end of the waist. That shape just doesn’t work for me. So I am making modifications to fit my body and measurements. AND, the pros is that this will fit me even when I get a little bigger around my belly in few weeks. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Knitting a dress for my growing belly

Leave a Reply

