TNNA Review

This past weekend, I made the trip out to Indianapolis for TNNA show. TNNA is always exhausting but fun and productive, since it’s specifically geared towards the vendors, yarn companies, designers, and other professionals in the field, rather than a retail marketplace.

Instead of giving a day-to-day recap of the event, just because SO MANY THINGS happened in the 2.5 days I stayed, and I am sure other people would write about it so much on their blogs, I decided to do reviews of some vendors and other people I’ve met at the show.

LadyDyeYarns. Boston, MA.

5 years ago, Boston became a special place for me. My then boyfriend/now husband went to a bar association convention in Boston, spent 4 days before I found out that I passed the CA bar!! So whenever I meet people from Boston area, I’m excited!

Well, that is not the only reason why I was excited to finally meet Lady Diane from LadyDye I’ve been following (stalking) her on Twitter and Instagram for about a couple of weeks before the show, oagling at all her beautifully crafted yarns. As a designer, sometimes I am drawn to the texture, sometimes colors, sometimes the construction of the yarn. It really depends on what strikes me at the moment. When I first saw a photo of LadyDye’s yarn on Instagram, without even knowing any background of her company or what she does, I immediately thought of spray paint cans.

Which totally made sense after I found out that she does a lot of yarn bombing and street arts in general. I have been doing a lot of classic, simplistic style for my designs ever since I started designing, and I’ve been feeling that I should do at least one design that is totally out of my comfort zone. Neon colors? Unconventional shaping? Non-garment projects?

That’s why I have a new design coming up in Holla Knits Home collection. I have never much home accessories before and thought I had to give it at least one try.

HOLLA KNITS

Which brings me to Holla Knits. I loved the process of designing and knitting something I’ve never done. Home accessories, I thought, hey, it’ll be simple. It’s not like it has to FIT anyone. But then I realized I had that much more room to be more creative, and try something NEW. Stay tuned, because I definitely tried something that I have never ever done, even in my own personal knitting time. Anyways, on Sunday, some of the designers who designed for Holla Knits got together for breakfast.

20140507-192935.jpg
(see more pics on my Instagram!)
There is DEFINITELY more I want to share about TNNA but I think they deserve their own posts. So COMING SOON. πŸ™‚

Overall, this was the most fun I had at TNNA and I’m sure it’ll just get better and better every year. I was so tired, between the time difference and my crazy schedule the week before leading up to TNNA, so when I came back to California, all I could do was sleep.

I am totally impressed with people who already blogged about TNNA recap already.

Leave a Reply

